Surfcoast Anglican Parish

Torquay, Anglesea, Aireys Inlet

Parish History

The Surfcoast Parish was formed in 1994 by the amalgamation of the parish of Torquay (which included Anglesea and Mount Duneed) and the parish of Lorne (which included Aireys Inlet). At this time the parish farewelled the congregation from Mount Duneed who joined the parish of Grovedale. In 2012 the Anglican and Uniting Church congregations in Lorne united to form an independent parish. The Surfcoast Anglican Parish now consists of three parish centres at Torquay, Anglesea and Aireys Inlet.

Anglicans have worshipped across the Surfcoast since the 1870’s. Both St Aidan’s Church at Aireys Inlet and Transfiguration Church at Anglesea have been burnt in bushfires, the most recent being St Aidan’s which was lost in the 1983 Ash Wednesday fires. St Luke’s Church at Torquay is a traditional timber buildings with iron gabled roof. Transfiguration was built in 1957 and is more modern. It has a sanctuary built in the shape of the bow of a boat with a timber altar across the eye of the bow, looking out to sea. St Aidan’s is more modern again and was rebuilt and Consecrated by Archbishop David Penman in May 1986.

Vicars of the Surfcoast Parish

1994-1996 The Rev'd Jeffrey Berger
1997-2004 The Rev'd John Corby
2005-2008 The Rev'd Sophia Watkins
2009-2010 The Rev'd Philip Bewley
2011-2012 The Rev'd Lynton Wade
2013-2018 The Rev'd John Kelsey Webster
2019- The Rev'd Sharon Valentino

© 2024 Surfcoast Anglican Parish ABN 89 590 205 445